All models

Used Volkswagen ID.3: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the UK

Pro / Pro Performance (58 kWh)

Model years 2020–2023

Battery type
NMCestimateAkku-Brief ID.3 battery database · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

ID.3 Pro / Pro Performance 58 kWh, European production 2020-2024

Quote: Pro / Pro Performance (58 kWh) 2020 - 2024 58 NMC

How we got this: The database lists the 58 kWh ID.3 pack (2020-2024) as NMC for European cars; it does not list UK cars separately. UK cars use the same pack.

Usable battery
58 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Volkswagen ID.3 Pro Performance (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=df88e24b-e7f8-4195-b03e-694efc7d5a65 usable_battery_size=58

Official range (WLTP, new)
263 misourcedVolkswagen UK ID.3 price and specification guide, December 2020 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Volkswagen UK, ID.3 58 kWh, December 2020 price list (best trim; later cars were rated up to 265 miles)

Quote: Electric range up to 263 miles (424 km) WLTP

Battery wear
2.25% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityVolkswagen newsroom: ADAC 160,000 km ID.3 endurance test · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One ID.3 Pro S (77 kWh), ADAC endurance test, four years and more than 160,000 km

Quote: covered more than 160,000 kilometres. The key takeaway: the high-voltage battery still has a net capacity of 91 per cent.

How we got this: Our straight-line rate from ADAC's test: 9% capacity lost over the four-year test = 2.25% a year. The test car had the 77 kWh pack; no yearly figure for the 58 kWh pack was found, so the ID.3 test is used for it too. One car only, charged to 100% often.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 78% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 233 mi and 204 mi of WLTP rangeVolkswagen newsroom: ADAC 160,000 km ID.3 endurance test · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One ID.3 Pro S (77 kWh), ADAC endurance test, four years and more than 160,000 km

Quote: covered more than 160,000 kilometres. The key takeaway: the high-voltage battery still has a net capacity of 91 per cent.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.25% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
19% lesssourcedNorwegian winter road test to empty, about +3 to -5°C, battery not preheated: 340 km vs 418 km WLTP, compared with the WLTP ratingMotor (NAF) winter range test 2021: VW ID.3 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One 2021 ID.3 1st Plus (58 kWh), Norway

Quote: Forskjell fra oppgitt rekkevidde: 78 km (-18,6 prosent).

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerVolkswagen UK new car warranty terms · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Volkswagen UK battery warranty for electric cars; 70% capacity floor and transfer to later owners stated on Volkswagen UK pages

Quote: For BEVs, the battery energy content degradation warranty lasts for 8 years or up to 100,000 miles, whichever comes first.

Recall charge limit
DVSA R/2026/150 (Volkswagen 93MI): charging can be limited to 80%estimateID.3s built 24 October 2022 - 25 April 2025 with battery cells from one supplier (2,260 UK cars, reported as Pro S); charge outdoors and to 80% at most until the battery is checked; about 210 mi of WLTP range when newDVSA vehicle recalls data (RecallsFile.csv) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

DVSA recall R/2026/150: Volkswagen ID.3 built 24/10/2022 - 25/04/2025, battery self-discharge fault

Quote: The vehicle may only be charged outdoors and up to maximum 80%.

How we got this: DVSA lists the recall for the ID.3 without naming a battery size; Auto Express reports it as Pro S (77 kWh) only. Under the cautious rule the 58 kWh car may get the same limit, so it is shown.

Pro S (77 kWh)

Model years 2021–2023

Battery type
NMCestimateAkku-Brief ID.3 battery database · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

ID.3 Pro S 77 kWh, European production 2020-2024

Quote: Pro S (77 kWh) 2020 - 2024 77 NMC

How we got this: The database lists the 77 kWh ID.3 pack (2020-2024) as NMC for European cars; it does not list UK cars separately. UK cars use the same pack.

Usable battery
77 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Volkswagen ID.3 Pro S - 5 Seats (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=0b495527-0413-4cd4-b26d-c5052e9a9db2 usable_battery_size=77

Official range (WLTP, new)
336 misourcedVolkswagen UK ID.3 price and specification guide, December 2020 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Volkswagen UK, ID.3 77 kWh, December 2020 price list (later cars were rated up to 347 miles)

Quote: Electric range up to 336 miles (541 km) WLTP

Battery wear
2.25% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityVolkswagen newsroom: ADAC 160,000 km ID.3 endurance test · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One ID.3 Pro S (77 kWh), ADAC endurance test, four years and more than 160,000 km

Quote: covered more than 160,000 kilometres. The key takeaway: the high-voltage battery still has a net capacity of 91 per cent.

How we got this: Our straight-line rate from ADAC's test: 9% capacity lost over the four-year test = 2.25% a year. One car only, charged to 100% often and rapid-charged in over 40% of sessions.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 78% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 298 mi and 260 mi of WLTP rangeVolkswagen newsroom: ADAC 160,000 km ID.3 endurance test · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One ID.3 Pro S (77 kWh), ADAC endurance test, four years and more than 160,000 km

Quote: covered more than 160,000 kilometres. The key takeaway: the high-voltage battery still has a net capacity of 91 per cent.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.25% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
19% lesssourcedNorwegian winter road test to empty, 0 to -10°C: 435 km vs 539 km WLTP, compared with the WLTP ratingMotor (NAF) winter range test 2022 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One ID.3 Pro S (77 kWh), Norway

Quote: Volkswagen ID.3 PRO S 539 km 435 km -19,29

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerVolkswagen UK new car warranty terms · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Volkswagen UK battery warranty for electric cars; 70% capacity floor and transfer to later owners stated on Volkswagen UK pages

Quote: For BEVs, the battery energy content degradation warranty lasts for 8 years or up to 100,000 miles, whichever comes first.

Recall charge limit
Volkswagen UK recall 93MV / 93MF; DVSA R/2026/150 (93MI): charging can be limited to 80%sourcedUK ID.3 Pro S cars with batteries from one supplier made 2022-2025 (2,261 cars); a temporary limit, mostly set remotely, until the battery is checked; about 269 mi of WLTP range when newVolkswagen UK: 93MV and 93MF high voltage battery safety recall · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Volkswagen UK recall page for ID.3, ID.4 and ID.7 with high-voltage batteries from a specific supplier made 2022-2025

Quote: For safety reasons, the factory is temporarily limiting affected vehicles’ maximum available charging capacity to 80%.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.