All models

Used Polestar 2: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

Long Range Single Motor (2022-2023)

Model years 2022–2023

Battery type
NMCestimateEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 Long Range, 78 kWh (75 kWh usable)

Quote: Cathode Material NMC

How we got this: EU/UK listing of the same 78 kWh pack used in US cars.

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Polestar 2 Long Range Single Motor (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=c9025ab4-1c85-40d8-86ab-ee406de3b716 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (EPA, new)
270 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 44928: 2022 Polestar 2 Single Motor; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=44928 range=270

Efficiency (EPA combined)
31.5 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 44928: 2022 Polestar 2 Single Motor; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=44928 combE=31.4956

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Polestar 2 degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 239 mi and 208 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
14% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 (year and trim not stated), CAA test

Quote: Polestar 2 3 384 km 444 km -14%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated year; a 444 km rating suggests a newer 82 kWh car. Applied to the 78 kWh car.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedPolestar US: warranty FAQ · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar US battery warranty (current page); no capacity floor or transfer wording on the page

Quote: The battery and electric motors are covered for 8 years or 100,000 miles.

Long Range Dual Motor (2022)

Model years 2022

Battery type
NMCestimateEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 Long Range, 78 kWh (75 kWh usable)

Quote: Cathode Material NMC

How we got this: EU/UK listing of the same 78 kWh pack used in US cars.

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Polestar 2 Long Range Dual Motor (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=e04a9d8c-270f-066a-4fa3-e5d9704cfed1 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (EPA, new)
249 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 44449: 2022 Polestar 2 Dual Motor

Record: id=44449 range=249

Efficiency (EPA combined)
37.8 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 44449: 2022 Polestar 2 Dual Motor

Record: id=44449 combE=37.8103

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Polestar 2 degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 220 mi and 192 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
14% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 (year and trim not stated), CAA test

Quote: Polestar 2 3 384 km 444 km -14%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated year; a 444 km rating suggests a newer 82 kWh car. Applied to the 78 kWh car.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedPolestar US: warranty FAQ · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar US battery warranty (current page); no capacity floor or transfer wording on the page

Quote: The battery and electric motors are covered for 8 years or 100,000 miles.

In the UK

Long Range Single Motor (2021-2023)

Model years 2021–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 Long Range, 78 kWh (75 kWh usable)

Quote: Cathode Material NMC

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Polestar 2 Long Range Single Motor (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=c9025ab4-1c85-40d8-86ab-ee406de3b716 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (WLTP, new)
320 misourcedEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range Single Motor (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Polestar 2 Long Range Single Motor (2021-2023): WLTP 320-342 miles by trim; the lowest is shown

Quote: Range 320 mi

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Polestar 2 degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 283 mi and 246 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
14% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 (year and trim not stated), CAA test

Quote: Polestar 2 3 384 km 444 km -14%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated year; a 444 km rating suggests a newer 82 kWh car. Applied to the 78 kWh car.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; transfer not statedPolestar UK: warranty FAQ · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar UK battery warranty: 8 years / 100,000 miles, 70% state of health

Quote: If the battery’s State-of-Health (SoH) drops below 70% of its original capacity within the first 8 years of ownership

How we got this: The current Polestar UK page is cited, not a booklet from 2020-2023. It does not say whether the battery cover transfers.

Long Range Dual Motor (2020-2023)

Model years 2020–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 Long Range, 78 kWh (75 kWh usable)

Quote: Cathode Material NMC

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Polestar 2 Long Range Dual Motor (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=e04a9d8c-270f-066a-4fa3-e5d9704cfed1 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (WLTP, new)
283 misourcedEV Database: Polestar 2 Long Range Dual Motor (UK) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Polestar 2 Long Range Dual Motor: WLTP 283-303 miles by trim; the lowest is shown

Quote: Range 283 mi

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Polestar 2 degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 250 mi and 218 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Polestar 2-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
14% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar 2 (year and trim not stated), CAA test

Quote: Polestar 2 3 384 km 444 km -14%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated year; a 444 km rating suggests a newer 82 kWh car. Applied to the 78 kWh car.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; transfer not statedPolestar UK: warranty FAQ · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Polestar UK battery warranty: 8 years / 100,000 miles, 70% state of health

Quote: If the battery’s State-of-Health (SoH) drops below 70% of its original capacity within the first 8 years of ownership

How we got this: The current Polestar UK page is cited, not a booklet from 2020-2023. It does not say whether the battery cover transfers.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.