All models

Used Hyundai Ioniq Electric: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

28 kWh

Model years 2017–2019

Battery type
NMCestimateEVKX: Hyundai Ioniq Electric 38 kWh specifications · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh (40.4 kWh gross), spec database

Quote: Cathode Materials NMC Battery gross 40.4 kWh

How we got this: EVKX lists NMC for the 38.3 kWh facelift; the earlier 28 kWh pack uses LG pouch cells of the same family. Hyundai does not name the chemistry.

Usable battery
28 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai IONIQ Electric (2016); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=8a18fe98-6df5-494d-b2b0-1fda8721461e usable_battery_size=28

Official range (EPA, new)
124 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 38431: 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2017 rating is shown for 2017-2019, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=38431 range=124

Efficiency (EPA combined)
25 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 38431: 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2017 rating is shown for 2017-2019, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=38431 combE=25

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Ioniq Electric degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 110 mi and 95 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
22% lessestimatewinter road driving, temperature not stated, compared with the WLTP ratingZapmap: Hyundai Ioniq Electric review · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One UK Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh in winter, Zapmap review

Quote: In real-world driving, that range was effectively down to 150 miles, when driving in winter conditions

How we got this: Our calculation: (193 - 150) / 193 = 22%. One uncontrolled winter drive of a UK 38.3 kWh car, measured against WLTP; no temperature stated. No controlled test found.

Battery replacement cost
$17,845estimatemaker's list price; labour included: no; 2022 priceThe Drive: replacement battery costs for six EVs (13 Sep 2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai parts price for the 28 kWh Ioniq Electric pack, reported 2022

Quote: The cost is $17,845, almost as much as the car itself.

How we got this: The Drive took the price from Hyundai's parts site for the 2017+ Ioniq Electric (28 kWh) pack. Parts only.

Battery warranty
10 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai warranty bulletin (filed with NHTSA) and Hyundai USA warranty page · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US Hyundai hybrid/electric battery: lifetime for the original owner of 2017-2019 cars, 10 years / 100,000 miles for later owners

Quote: 2012-2019 (Subsequent Owner) (10 years/100,000 miles)

How we got this: A used buyer is a later owner, so 10 years / 100,000 miles applies. The 70% floor is from Hyundai USA's current warranty page ('will not degrade more than 70 percent of the original capacity'), not from a 2017-2019 booklet.

38.3 kWh

Model years 2020–2021

Battery type
NMCestimateEVKX: Hyundai Ioniq Electric 38 kWh specifications · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh (40.4 kWh gross), spec database

Quote: Cathode Materials NMC Battery gross 40.4 kWh

How we got this: Hyundai calls the cells lithium-ion polymer (a pouch format) and does not name the chemistry; EVKX, a spec database, lists NMC.

Usable battery
38.3 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai Ioniq (2019); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=3038b11b-2dfc-4f9f-b22c-4bfdc08d0c4b usable_battery_size=38.3

Official range (EPA, new)
170 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 42273: 2020 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2020 rating is shown for 2020-2021, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=42273 range=170

Efficiency (EPA combined)
25.4 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 42273: 2020 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2020 rating is shown for 2020-2021, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=42273 combE=25.3864

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Ioniq Electric degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 150 mi and 131 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
22% lessestimatewinter road driving, temperature not stated, compared with the WLTP ratingZapmap: Hyundai Ioniq Electric review · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One UK Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh in winter, Zapmap review

Quote: In real-world driving, that range was effectively down to 150 miles, when driving in winter conditions

How we got this: Our calculation: (193 - 150) / 193 = 22%. One uncontrolled winter drive of a UK 38.3 kWh car, measured against WLTP; no temperature stated. No controlled test found.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
10 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai warranty bulletin (filed with NHTSA) and Hyundai USA warranty page · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US Hyundai hybrid/electric battery warranty from 2020 models: 10 years / 100,000 miles for all owners

Quote: Starting with 2020MY vehicles: the hybrid/electric battery warranty coverage period for both original and subsequent owners is 10 years

How we got this: The 70% floor is from Hyundai USA's current warranty page, not from the 2020-2021 booklet.

Recall charge limit
NHTSA 21V-127 (Hyundai 200): charging can be limited to 80%sourced2 model-year 2020 Ioniq Electrics built 8-11 November 2019, until the battery is checked or replaced; about 136 mi of EPA range when newNHTSA recall report 21V-127 (Hyundai, March 2021) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

NHTSA Part 573 report 21V-127: LG cells may short; the Ioniq Electric charge limit is lowered to 80% until the battery is checked or replaced

Quote: have the battery’s state of charge limit lowered to 80% to mitigate risk of a fire

In the UK

38.3 kWh

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCestimateEVKX: Hyundai Ioniq Electric 38 kWh specifications · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh (40.4 kWh gross), spec database

Quote: Cathode Materials NMC Battery gross 40.4 kWh

How we got this: Hyundai calls the cells lithium-ion polymer (a pouch format) and does not name the chemistry; EVKX, a spec database, lists NMC.

Usable battery
38.3 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai Ioniq (2019); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=3038b11b-2dfc-4f9f-b22c-4bfdc08d0c4b usable_battery_size=38.3

Official range (WLTP, new)
193 misourcedZapmap: Hyundai Ioniq Electric review · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh (2019-2022) WLTP range

Quote: Hyundai's official WLTP driving range for the Ioniq Electric is 193 miles on a charge.

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: No yearly Ioniq Electric degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 171 mi and 149 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
22% lessestimatewinter road driving, temperature not stated, compared with the WLTP ratingZapmap: Hyundai Ioniq Electric review · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

One UK Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh in winter, Zapmap review

Quote: In real-world driving, that range was effectively down to 150 miles, when driving in winter conditions

How we got this: Our calculation: (193 - 150) / 193 = 22%. One uncontrolled winter drive of a UK 38.3 kWh car, measured against WLTP; no temperature stated. No controlled test found.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai UK Warranty Terms and Conditions · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai UK EV battery warranty: 8 years, at least 70% capacity, transferable while valid

Quote: the battery warranty covers repairs needed to return the battery capacity to at least 70% of the original capacity

How we got this: Models first produced before 2020 get 8 years / 125,000 miles, later ones 8 years / 100,000 miles. The Ioniq Electric dates from 2016, but Hyundai UK's used-car page gives 100,000 miles, so the lower mileage is shown.

Recall charge limit
DVSA R/2021/087: charging can be limited to 80%estimateUK Ioniq Electrics in recall R/2021/087 (built to early 2020), until the battery is replaced; about 154 mi of WLTP range when newDVSA vehicle recalls data (RecallsFile.csv) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

DVSA recall R/2021/087: Ioniq Electric, possible short circuit in the lithium-ion battery

Quote: Initial step to limit the charge state followed by eventual complete replacement of the battery assembly.

How we got this: DVSA says the charge is limited but gives no %. The US recall for the same LG cell fault (NHTSA 21V-127) lowers it to 80%, so 80% is shown under the cautious rule.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.