All models

Used Ford F-150 Lightning: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

Standard Range (2022)

Model years 2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedGreen Car Reports: Ford and SK battery joint venture · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

SK 'Nickel 9' NCM cells in the F-150 Lightning

Quote: The F-150 will be the debut vehicle for SK’s new “Nickel 9” NCM chemistry

Usable battery
98 kWhsourcedCar and Driver: Ford confirms 2022 F-150 Lightning battery specs · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2022 F-150 Lightning Standard Range, usable size confirmed by Ford

Quote: a 98.0-kWh Standard Range battery pack targeting up to 230 miles of range

Official range (EPA, new)
230 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 45318: 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD

Record: id=45318 range=230

Efficiency (EPA combined)
49.4 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 45318: 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD

Record: id=45318 combE=49.3643

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: No yearly F-150 Lightning degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 204 mi and 177 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
35% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

F-150 Lightning (year not stated), CAA test

Quote: Ford F-150 Lightning 9 296 km 515 km -35%

How we got this: One CAA test truck of unstated year (a 515 km rating means an Extended Range truck). Applied to all variants; Standard Range trucks may differ.

Battery replacement cost
$32,615estimatemaker's list price; labour included: no; 2026 priceFordPartsGiant: Ford battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-H (Standard Range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Genuine Ford high-voltage battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-H (Standard Range), listed for 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; MSRP, parts only

Quote: MSRP: $32615.29

How we got this: The parts page lists the battery assembly for the 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning but does not say which pack. Owners' parts lists match this part number to the Standard Range pack (NL3Z-10B759-H = Standard Range; -E, replaced by -G = Extended Range).

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerFord US: hybrid and electric vehicle unique component coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ford US electric vehicle component warranty, including the high-voltage battery; remaining cover passes to a used buyer

Quote: This coverage lasts for 8 years or 100,000 miles from the Warranty Start Date, whichever occurs first.

How we got this: Ford's page gives 8 years / 100,000 miles. The 70% floor is Ford's stated term for its EVs (e.g. Mach-E tech specs) and appears in owner copies of the Lightning warranty, but not on this page.

Recall charge limit
NHTSA 25V-131 (Ford 25S18): charging can be limited to 80%sourcedsome 2022-2024 F-150 Lightnings with SK battery cells, until the battery array is checked or replaced; about 184 mi of EPA range when newNHTSA recall record 25V-131 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

NHTSA recall 25V-131 (2022-2024 F-150 Lightning, battery cell defect, fire risk)

Quote: Owners are advised to only charge their vehicles to a maximum of 80% battery capacity until the repair has been completed.

Standard Range (2023-2024)

Model years 2023–2024

Battery type
NMCsourcedGreen Car Reports: Ford and SK battery joint venture · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

SK 'Nickel 9' NCM cells in the F-150 Lightning

Quote: The F-150 will be the debut vehicle for SK’s new “Nickel 9” NCM chemistry

Usable battery
98 kWhestimateCar and Driver: Ford confirms 2022 F-150 Lightning battery specs · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2022 F-150 Lightning Standard Range, usable size confirmed by Ford

Quote: a 98.0-kWh Standard Range battery pack targeting up to 230 miles of range

How we got this: Ford confirmed this for 2022; the same Ford pack part is listed for 2022-2025, so the size is assumed unchanged.

Official range (EPA, new)
240 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 46329: 2023 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD; this 2023 rating is shown for 2023-2024, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=46329 range=240

Efficiency (EPA combined)
49.4 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 46329: 2023 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD; this 2023 rating is shown for 2023-2024, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=46329 combE=49.3643

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: No yearly F-150 Lightning degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 212 mi and 185 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
35% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

F-150 Lightning (year not stated), CAA test

Quote: Ford F-150 Lightning 9 296 km 515 km -35%

How we got this: One CAA test truck of unstated year (a 515 km rating means an Extended Range truck). Applied to all variants; Standard Range trucks may differ.

Battery replacement cost
$32,615estimatemaker's list price; labour included: no; 2026 priceFordPartsGiant: Ford battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-H (Standard Range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Genuine Ford high-voltage battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-H (Standard Range), listed for 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; MSRP, parts only

Quote: MSRP: $32615.29

How we got this: The parts page lists the battery assembly for the 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning but does not say which pack. Owners' parts lists match this part number to the Standard Range pack (NL3Z-10B759-H = Standard Range; -E, replaced by -G = Extended Range).

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerFord US: hybrid and electric vehicle unique component coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ford US electric vehicle component warranty, including the high-voltage battery; remaining cover passes to a used buyer

Quote: This coverage lasts for 8 years or 100,000 miles from the Warranty Start Date, whichever occurs first.

How we got this: Ford's page gives 8 years / 100,000 miles. The 70% floor is Ford's stated term for its EVs (e.g. Mach-E tech specs) and appears in owner copies of the Lightning warranty, but not on this page.

Recall charge limit
NHTSA 25V-131 (Ford 25S18): charging can be limited to 80%sourcedsome 2022-2024 F-150 Lightnings with SK battery cells, until the battery array is checked or replaced; about 192 mi of EPA range when newNHTSA recall record 25V-131 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

NHTSA recall 25V-131 (2022-2024 F-150 Lightning, battery cell defect, fire risk)

Quote: Owners are advised to only charge their vehicles to a maximum of 80% battery capacity until the repair has been completed.

Extended Range (2022-2024)

Model years 2022–2024

Battery type
NMCsourcedGreen Car Reports: Ford and SK battery joint venture · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

SK 'Nickel 9' NCM cells in the F-150 Lightning

Quote: The F-150 will be the debut vehicle for SK’s new “Nickel 9” NCM chemistry

Usable battery
131 kWhestimateCar and Driver: Ford confirms 2022 F-150 Lightning battery specs · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2022 F-150 Lightning Extended Range, usable size confirmed by Ford

Quote: a 131.0-kWh Extended Range pack

How we got this: Ford confirmed this for 2022; the same Ford pack part is listed for 2022-2025, so the size is assumed unchanged.

Official range (EPA, new)
320 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 45317: 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD Extended Range; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2024, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=45317 range=320

Efficiency (EPA combined)
47.9 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 45317: 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning 4WD Extended Range; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2024, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=45317 combE=47.9143

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: No yearly F-150 Lightning degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 283 mi and 246 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab fleet average (not F-150 Lightning-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
35% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

F-150 Lightning (year not stated), CAA test

Quote: Ford F-150 Lightning 9 296 km 515 km -35%

How we got this: One CAA test truck of unstated year (a 515 km rating means an Extended Range truck). Applied to all variants; Standard Range trucks may differ.

Battery replacement cost
$39,113estimatemaker's list price; labour included: no; 2026 priceFordPartsGiant: Ford battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-G (Extended Range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Genuine Ford high-voltage battery assembly NL3Z-10B759-G (Extended Range), listed for 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; MSRP, parts only

Quote: MSRP: $39112.94

How we got this: The parts page lists the battery assembly for the 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning but does not say which pack. Owners' parts lists match this part number to the Extended Range pack (NL3Z-10B759-H = Standard Range; -E, replaced by -G = Extended Range).

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerFord US: hybrid and electric vehicle unique component coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ford US electric vehicle component warranty, including the high-voltage battery; remaining cover passes to a used buyer

Quote: This coverage lasts for 8 years or 100,000 miles from the Warranty Start Date, whichever occurs first.

How we got this: Ford's page gives 8 years / 100,000 miles. The 70% floor is Ford's stated term for its EVs (e.g. Mach-E tech specs) and appears in owner copies of the Lightning warranty, but not on this page.

Recall charge limit
NHTSA 25V-131 (Ford 25S18): charging can be limited to 80%sourcedsome 2022-2024 F-150 Lightnings with SK battery cells, until the battery array is checked or replaced; about 256 mi of EPA range when newNHTSA recall record 25V-131 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

NHTSA recall 25V-131 (2022-2024 F-150 Lightning, battery cell defect, fire risk)

Quote: Owners are advised to only charge their vehicles to a maximum of 80% battery capacity until the repair has been completed.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.