All models

Used BMW i3: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

94 Ah (33 kWh), BEV

Model years 2018

Battery type
NMCestimateCharged EVs: BMW and Samsung SDI cell supply · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Samsung SDI cells for the BMW i3 (60 Ah generation)

Quote: The 60 Ah nickel-cobalt-manganese (NCM) cells used in the BMW i3

How we got this: The source names NMC for the first 60 Ah Samsung SDI cell; BMW says the 94 Ah and 120 Ah cells are the same cell with refined material.

Usable battery
27.2 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: BMW i3 94 Ah (2017); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=72572e52-fd8e-4017-affc-bdb933b7ddeb usable_battery_size=27.2

Official range (EPA, new)
114 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 39854: 2018 BMW i3 (94Ah)

Record: id=39854 range=114

Efficiency (EPA combined)
28.6 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 39854: 2018 BMW i3 (94Ah)

Record: id=39854 combE=28.6352

Battery wear
2.2% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our straight-line rate from Recurrent's i3 figure of 89% of original range after 5 years: (100 - 89) / 5 = 2.2% a year. Recurrent pools all US i3 years and packs.

Expected range kept
89% after 5 years, 78% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 101 mi and 89 mi of EPA rangeRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
28% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs the model's best range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 72%

How we got this: Recurrent's BMW i3 winter range at 32°F is 72% of its best range, so about 28% less. Pooled across BMW i3 versions.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedBMW Group PressClub USA: the new 2017 BMW i3 (94 Ah) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

BMW USA high-voltage battery warranty for the 94 Ah i3 (2017-2018); capacity floor and transfer not stated

Quote: Customers receive an 8-year/100,000-mile High-voltage Battery Warranty

120 Ah (42 kWh), BEV

Model years 2019–2021

Battery type
NMCestimateCharged EVs: BMW and Samsung SDI cell supply · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Samsung SDI cells for the BMW i3 (60 Ah generation)

Quote: The 60 Ah nickel-cobalt-manganese (NCM) cells used in the BMW i3

How we got this: The source names NMC for the first 60 Ah Samsung SDI cell; BMW says the 94 Ah and 120 Ah cells are the same cell with refined material.

Usable battery
37.9 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: BMW i3 120 Ah (2020); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=e59115ea-4d72-094c-2941-1494f8005ae2 usable_battery_size=37.9

Official range (EPA, new)
153 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 41054: 2019 BMW i3; this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2021, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=41054 range=153

Efficiency (EPA combined)
29.8 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

EPA record 41054: 2019 BMW i3; this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2021, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=41054 combE=29.7947

Battery wear
2.2% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our straight-line rate from Recurrent's i3 figure of 89% of original range after 5 years: (100 - 89) / 5 = 2.2% a year. Recurrent pools all US i3 years and packs.

Expected range kept
89% after 5 years, 78% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 136 mi and 119 mi of EPA rangeRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
28% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs the model's best range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 72%

How we got this: Recurrent's BMW i3 winter range at 32°F is 72% of its best range, so about 28% less. Pooled across BMW i3 versions.

Battery replacement cost
$34,823estimatescaled from a similar battery; labour included: no; 2026 priceBMWPartsDeal: BMW high-voltage battery cell module 61277933747 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Genuine BMW cell module for the 2019-2020 i3 / i3s (120 Ah), 8 per pack; MSRP

Quote: MSRP: $4352.93

How we got this: Our sum: 8 cell modules x $4,352.93 MSRP = $34,823. Parts only; it leaves out the pack case, battery management unit and labour. The Drive (2022) used the same method ($3,054 x 8 = $24,432).

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US BMW i3 battery warranty, 2014-2021 (Recurrent summary)

Quote: Battery Warranty 8 yr / 100k miles

How we got this: BMW's own 2019-2021 US booklet was not found; Recurrent's summary is used. Capacity floor and transfer not stated.

In the UK

120 Ah (42 kWh), BEV

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCestimateCharged EVs: BMW and Samsung SDI cell supply · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Samsung SDI cells for the BMW i3 (60 Ah generation)

Quote: The 60 Ah nickel-cobalt-manganese (NCM) cells used in the BMW i3

How we got this: The source names NMC for the first 60 Ah Samsung SDI cell; BMW says the 94 Ah and 120 Ah cells are the same cell with refined material.

Usable battery
37.9 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: BMW i3 120 Ah (2020); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=e59115ea-4d72-094c-2941-1494f8005ae2 usable_battery_size=37.9

Official range (WLTP, new)
177 misourcedBMW Group PressClub UK: the all-electric BMW i3 120Ah (Sep 2018) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK i3 120 Ah: 192 miles WLTP, i3s 120 Ah: 177 miles WLTP (launch figures); the lower is shown

Quote: BMW i3s 184 270 99 0 214 (177 WLTP)

Battery wear
2.2% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our straight-line rate from Recurrent's i3 figure of 89% of original range after 5 years: (100 - 89) / 5 = 2.2% a year. Recurrent pools all US i3 years and packs.

Expected range kept
89% after 5 years, 78% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 158 mi and 138 mi of WLTP rangeRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled (range, not capacity)

Quote: 92% of original 89% of original

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
28% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs the model's best range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent: BMW i3 battery and range guide · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent community data, all BMW i3 versions pooled

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 72%

How we got this: Recurrent's BMW i3 winter range at 32°F is 72% of its best range, so about 28% less. Pooled across BMW i3 versions.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 62,137 milesestimatefrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedBMW Group PressClub: six years of BMW i3 (January 2020) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

BMW i3 European battery warranty: 8 years / 100,000 km, raised to 160,000 km for new cars from 2020

Quote: The maximum mileage over a warranty period has been extended to 8 years and/or 160,000 kilometres.

How we got this: BMW raised the European i3 battery warranty from 100,000 km to 160,000 km in January 2020. UK cars sold before then may have the old 100,000 km (62,137 miles) limit, so that is shown. UK dealers describe it as 8 years / 100,000 miles; a BMW UK booklet was not found. No capacity % or transfer wording on the page.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.